New Child Safety Seat Laws
California’s New Child Passenger Safety Law effective January 1, 2012:
California Law will require children to ride in the back seat in a properly secured child passenger safety restraint until they are at least 8 years old or until they are at least 4 feet 9 inches in height.
Properly buckling your children in before every trip in your car is critical.
Thousands of children are injured or killed every year by safety seats that are improperly fastened by parents or caretakers. Remember, most collisions occur within a mile of the home – so buckle your child in a safety seat for every trip, no matter how short.
View Frequently Asked Questions here.
WEAVE is in need of NEW safety/booster seats! Each year, more than 170 children stay at WEAVE’s Safehouse and most of them are 8 years of age or younger. Many families must flee to the Safehouse with only the clothes they are wearing. WEAVE has a limited number of booster seats available for loan to mothers and is seeking donations of additional new booster seats. We especially need larger sizes appropriate for older children.